Main Menu

ODC Since Inception

The Ondo Development Committee (ODC) was established on October, 25, 1986.  At its inaugural meeting presided over by the then Osemawe, Oba Robert Adekolurejo, problems facing Ondo Kingdom were highlighted and discussions centred on ways and means of tackling them” It needs to be mentioned that the members voluntarily contributed money for the establishment of the Committee’s Secretariat in November 1986.

The Committee at its inception comprised the Osemawe, the High Chiefs and twenty eight (28) members with High Chief Ebun Olawoye as Chairman and Chief Samuel Akinwande as the Executive Secretary.

In the Committee’s early period, it succeeded in getting the approval of the Military Governor for the:

  1. Appointment of the Osemawe as a permanent member of the Ondo State Council of Chiefs,
  2. Recognition of the Osemawe as both the prescribed and consenting authority in Ondo Kingdom,
  3. Directive from the Military Governor to appropriate officials to remedy the falsified map demarcating the then Ondo Local Government area from that of former Ifesowapo Local Government.
  4. The return of the money collected by Ondo people towards the development of the Local Government during the Governor Bamidele Otiko Administration to the coffers of Ondo Local Government for the community’s use.
  5. Forging good and cordial relationship with its neighbouring towns and villages, thus, visits were made to the Obas of Epe, Igbado, Igunsin, Igbado and Ile-Oluji.
  6. The introduction of the annual Ekimogun Day Celebration on first Saturday in December every year which has been an enduring legacy. The occasion is for fund-raising for the development of the Kingdom.

The first Ekimogun Day was held on 2nd December, 1988 and the Chief Launcher was Prince, later HRM Oba (Dr) Festus Adesanoye.  Four eminent Ondo sons were also honoured with Merit Awards.

In later years, the Committee was restructured and among its other activities were:

  1. Construction of the magnificent Oba Adesanoye Civic Centre
  2. The repurchase and renovation of the building at Oiden for use of Ekimogun Community Bank. A non-indigene had bought the building at Oiden which is considered as a great veneration to Ondo in view of its importance in the culture and tradition of Ondo.
  3. Sponsorship of the incorporation of Ekimogun Community Bank now Ekimogun Micro Finance Bank.
  4. Financed the construction and modernization of the Ugha.
  5. Organization and financing the community’s application for additional Local Government Areas with the active support of the Osemawe resulting in the creation of Ondo West and Ondo East Local Governments from the then existing Ondo Local Government Area.
  6. Through its Political and Strategic Planning Sub-Committee, it introduced the Ekimogun Congress and Parliament to sensitise Ondo people on the need to create more interest in partisan politics and groom those with inclination for politics.
  7. Provision of water at Moferere Market.
  8. Award of scholarship and bursary to indigent but brilliant Ondo students in tertiary institutions.
  9. Distribution of exercise books with ODC label on them to primary schools
  10. Encouragement of those willing to write on the history or culture of Ondo. Thus, it sponsored a publication on “Ondo Traditions and Culture: The Female Angle”.
  11. Worked assiduously to ensure the appointment of Ondo indigenes into key government positions.
  12. An attempt by an Oloja in the then Ondo Local Government to wear a beaded crown was negated by the appearance and plea of the ODC at the Adebayo Chieftaincy Review Committee.
  13. The Committee fought for, but gallantly lost the battle for the siting of the Faculty of Engineering of the then Ondo State University, Ado-Ekiti, in Ondo Town when the University Council reversed the law establishing the institution as a multi-campus institution to a single campus status.
  14. Paid familiarization visit to the National Institute for Educational Planning and Administration (NIEPA) Ondo.
  15. Publication of ODC monthly News bulletin, courtesy of the immediate past Executive Secretary, Mr Olukayode Akinnagbe through which members of Ondo Kingdom were kept abreast of developments in the ODC and the kingdom in general. The bimonthly ODC News with Alhaji Yemi Adewetan, a veteran journalist as Chairman, Editorial Board and Mr Akinnagbe as Editor replaced the ODC Newsletter towards the end of Year 2003.
  16. Provision of legal team for Oba (Dr) Festus Adesanoye at the Supreme Court in the suit for the throne.
  17. Stimulation of interest in the industrialization of Ondo by organizing in 2004, a seminar on Economic and industrial development of Ondo. In 2012, the Committee acquired land at Okegun for industrialization while along with a company, WESTOVIS, Ondo West Local Government and some individuals jointly acquired land at Igbado for the same purpose.
  18. Through the instrumentality of the ODC, Ondo was considered for the posting of Traffic wardens to help with the traffic in the town.
  19. Establishment and management of EKI FM radio.
  20. Establishment of three ICT Centres in Ondo City.
  21. Establishment of Ekimogun Youth Congress
  22. Enhanced the services of security in Ondo
  23. Intervention in misunderstanding for peace in Ondo.
  24. N500,000 Financial Support for the physically challenged for their Liyetu –Project.
  25. Annual Welfare Package for the less-priviledged.
  26. Endowment Prize for the Best Ondo graduating student at Adeyemi College of Education, Ondo
  27. Organising of Education Fair for Secondary Schools in Ondo Kingdom.
  28. Provision of Empowerment Programme for Youths in Ondo Kingdom.
  29. Provision of boreholes in Ondo West and East Local Governments.
  30. Launching of Ondo City Vision 2015.
  31. Launching of Ondo Chambers of Commerce, Industry and Mines.
  32. Establishment of Heritage Museum at the old Town Hall.
  33. Kitting of Secondary Schools in Ondo Kingdom.
  34. Facilitated the Ekimogun Youth Congress Security Summit.


Following the resignation of the pioneer Chairman, High Chief Ebun Olawoye in Year 2002, Prof Ifedayo Oladapo was appointed to succeed him.  His term witnessed a pragmatic development of the Committee.  He died in February 2009 and was succeeded by Chief Gbenga Akinnawo whose tenure ended in January 2014 after which Otunba Noah Fadayomi took over.  On reaching the age rule set by the Osemawe-In-Council, he resigned in December 2016 and was succeeded by his Deputy and Foundation member of the ODC, Chief Ope Bademosi, the Lotin of Ondo and former Chairman, Association of Ondo Clubs, Lagos and former Chairman, National Planning Committee for Ekimogun Day celebration.

Chief S.O. Akinwande JP was the pioneer Executive Secretary till April 1997    after which Mr Akinyemi took over   and was succeeded by Mr Olukayode Akinnagbe in December 1998 to March 2014. Rev. Damilola Akinwale is at present in the saddle.


The Committee which meets on the last Saturday of every month except December operates through the following Sub- Committees:

  1. Executive
  2. Finance and General Purposes
  3. Ekimogun Festival
  4. Facilities Management
  5. Project
  6. Youth and Culture
  7. ICT
  8. Commerce and Industry
  9. Communications
  10. Education
  11. Investment
  12. Welfare
  13. Public/ Government Liaison/ Uniting the Kingdom
  14. Legal
  15. Security